Los Angeles radio

Because God hates me, my car tape player — through which my CD player runs — broke three days after I entered LA, four days after my warranty ran out. Now I love driving. But that’s mostly because I like singing in the car. Without my CD player, without my tunes, I become aware that driving is a most unpleasant and dangerous experience. This is especially true in Los Angeles County, where people don’t so much drive as sit in traffic, narrowly avoid accidents, and finally search for parking for several hours.

The one upside of this is that I got a chance to thorougly explore LA radio. Turns out there’s not much to get excited about.

The world famous KROQ is nothing more than a slightly above average modern rock station, playing a mix of crummy new stuff and classics from the past 15 years.

91X is more enjoyable, playing a bit more Rancoteurs and a bit less My Chemical Romance, with their classics more along the lines of the Violent Femmes than the more obvious Nirvana and Alice in Chains. However, 91X is also a San Diego station, meaning it’s just a tease, fading in and out in my neighborhood.

KBAQ and KCRW are my local NPR affiliates. In their non-NPR time, one plays classical music and the other whatever the hell the college DJs feel like. Unfortunately, the students/old-crazy-guys of Santa Monica College don’t seem to have as varied or interesting a musical taste as the Princeton DJs I’m used to.

Indie 103.1 doesn’t seem to have a format, with blocks of punk, new wave, reggae and a two hour weekly show hosted by Henry Rollins that I’m sorta curious about. It’s worthy of a car preset, but barely.

A few other random thoughts:

People really like Nirvana out here.

There’s only one classic rock station in the county, KLOS, which is strange because they’re inescapable back east.

I’d been so disgruntled by recent Weezer releases, I forgot how good they were in the grand scheme of things. After being forced to listen to so much modern rock garbage, I’m relieved every time “Perfect Situation” comes on.

The Offspring’s “All I Want” should be outlawed from public use. It was on the soundtrack for the Sega Dreamcast game “Crazy Taxi” back in 1999, which means when I hear it on the radio in the car I have the uncontrollable desire to careen recklessly through the streets of Los Feliz. Thankfully, I couldn’t find a fare.

5 Responses to “Los Angeles radio”

  1. yllama Says:

    Ah, “All I Want” and Crazy Taxi. Almost as memorable as Motorhead’s “Ace of Spades” as used by Tony Hawk 3.

  2. ranting2006 Says:

    Your review of LA radio is very interesting. The last time I was in LA, it seemed that the all the music (or music taste) was a a few years behind the rest of the country. Your comment about the popularity of Nirvana confirms it. (smile). This has always bothered me, because it’s just LA, not Jakarta.

    I just purchased the new Blue October CD, Foiled. Do you care for it much?

  3. Roger Taylor Says:

    Haven’t heard it, but I just read a few reviews and it looks like it might be worth checking out. Anything with violins is okay by me.

  4. touristsale Says:

    touristsale

    touristsale

  5. eBaywatchings Says:

    290154687607

    listing brought me to check out many blogs

Leave a Reply

